3 New Criminal Laws to be effective from 1.7.2024 [See Notifications]

View Govt. Order
23.2.2024 : Three newly enacted laws -- The Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita, The Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita and The Bharatiya Sakshya Act will come into effect from July 1, in a move which will completely overhaul the criminal justice system.

The laws will replace the colonial-era Indian Penal Code (IPC), the Code of Criminal Procedure and the Indian Evidence Act of 1872 respectively.

24 Feb 2024